When life becomes Quikr!

Posted: November 4, 2014 in Competition Post, In The Bug's Mind
Tags: , , , ,

How many times does that happen in your life that you want to do something and out of nowhere an opportunity comes up giving you just that chance? I don’t know about you but in my case that number isn’t very large. But thanks to this stupendously amazing blog that I have, I got a few such chances this month. This is an account of something Blogadda and Quikr did for me this week. Being the kind of guy who rarely wins stuff on his blog, this was a refreshing change!

My relationship with Blogadda goes way back… I remember that time in 1857 when I used Blogadda to promote my posts about the Revolution… erm wait… we’re talking about the present birth! But five spicy Saturday and tangy Tuesday picks isn’t bad huh. So even in past two years, Blogadda people have been quite generous to me. But this time it was something different. Diwali had just gone and I was slowly getting back to blogging. I had just written “The plan” and went to Blogadda to submit my story like always. What I saw there was the Quikr contest… a contest where all you need to do is to buy something and they’ll pay you for that. Not to mention if the post is good, (like this one *coughs*) you’re in for even more awesomeness and awards!

So I applied and just the next day I got a call that I was shortlisted for the contest… amazing, no? Now comes the herculean task of buying something. As much as this contest sounds like a woman’s paradise, I am not very good at choosing stuff quickly. But as they say, behind every successful man, there’s a shopaholic sister. So my sister came to my rescue and suggested that I do something that I had been waiting for a long time. What’s that thing, you ask? It was buying a TV for my home. What!? You don’t have a TV!!! Well, we do, but it just isn’t the good old CRT. And apparently my parents’ love for their old TV hadn’t killed itself, the TV did though.

So here’s the thing. I needed a TV to gift it to my parents, one that gives the feeling just like the old one used to give. With the job and everything I just never got the time to go out and search… and hell knows how many shops I would need to visit to buy a TV at a reasonable cost! Sounded like a lot of work and being an engineer, it was strictly against my ethics. So here’s something I need, and here’s an opportunity, mix them up and what do you get? Wasting hours online to find a good product. Or at least that’s what I thought. And like Chandler would say, “could I BE more wrong!”

Quikr Advertisement

The original advertisement.

I had seen a lot of ads of Quikr on Television but I never checked it. Maybe the Indian mentality of “used products are always bad” stopped me. But to prove all this wrong, one experience seemed enough. When I went to Quikr, first thing I did was to select my hometown and find a TV according to my requirements. This is the page I set my mind upon: http://jaipur.quikr.com/TV-DVD-Multimedia/w15222202008 .
I was amazed to see that in every category so many ads were posted like every hour! I talked to around 7 people about my requirements and finally settled on one. It was not only close to my home but under my budget and in a great condition too! After I talked to the person who posted the ad, I gladly used my negotiating skills (How I wish they were useful in my company!) to bring the price down further and feel good about myself. Once it was done (which took less time than it takes me to make an omelet).

Once this is all done, guess what happened next? I’ll let the picture speak for me this time.

It's not the best gift, but the perfectly timed one for sure. Damn I can speak a lot!

It’s not the best gift, but the perfectly timed one for sure. Damn I can speak a lot!

I am yet to believe that this whole thing took barely two days. And most of the things I did were online. I could say I wanted to promote Quikr but with this experience I am pretty sure their work is promoting them. With such a gigantic user base, they don’t really need me to promote them. Now that this one is done, I have made a list of things I am buying next. I’ll just tell you all a few things to keep in mind if this is your first time buying/selling on Quikr.

As a buyer, don’t believe everything the seller says, do your research. Don’t pay up first and try to buy only from ads that look authentic. Rest assured, your experience will be awesome!

As a seller, make sure your number is verified and your ad has images, not to mention a good language. These were the things I noticed before buying something myself. Above all, be real, don’t cheat and keep the website just the way it is.

To end it, here’s the contest link, for those who were wondering: http://quikr.blogadda.com/.

Stay tuned to Blogadda, they just never run out of these things. And in case you want to know what I am up to these days, make sure you have liked this and followed me on Quora 🙂

PS: I guess by now you know: This post is a part of Quikr.com activity at BlogAdda.com

Comments
  1. Amit says:

    What’s amazing is that you managed to make me laugh in this post too! Time for me to log on Quikr now 😀

liked it? tell me please

