The plan.

Posted: October 28, 2014 in Author's choice, Fiction
Tags: , , ,

Mumbai. Marine drive, 1 A.M.

They say it’s a city that never sleeps,  and they aren’t wrong apparently. Yet there was something unusual about  what George just saw.

“Is that man trying to commit suicide?” He asked himself and went towards him, thinking he could do something about it.

“Hey” George shouted… “Yes, you… what are you doing?”

“Nothing”  that’s what the man said… but he was visibly scared like someone  caught him in the act. He was pretty sure George was a policeman.

George went closer to the guy… “Well your nothing looks like suicide to me sir.”

“No. I swear. I was just trying to look into the sea.” His voice started shaking.

A smile came to George’s face, his voice softened, “You can tell me what’s wrong. Trust me, I can help you”.

There  was something about George that opened up that man… The  expressionless face now started showing some emotions… “You are right.  I was trying to kill myself. I came to this city 3 months back to  become something and now I am a nobody. I have lost everything I had and  I don’t see any way out.”

For a moment George didn’t know how to  react. “I don’t know about you, young man, but I have seen similar  situations back in the day. One thing I know about life is that you  aren’t solving any problems by ending it, you are just choosing to  ignore them for eternity, thereby proving yourself a loser for a  lifetime. What can I call you by the way?”

The guy just looked at George like he wanted him to go on. “Sameer” he said.

“Look  Sameer, if I begin telling how many flaws are there in this self –  destructing plan of yours, we’ll probably need all night. I mean, who  thinks of killing himself on the freaking Marine Drive! But that’s not  what I’ll do… I’ll just say that no matter what your problem is, you  can always solve it with a peaceful mind. Killing yourself won’t take  you anywhere”

“I guess you’re right. What was I thinking! What would my parents do without me! I am so sorry” Sameer looked scared.

“So I believe you’ll be going back home and start a new life where you don’t kill yourself later?” George still had a smile.

“I believe so too. Thanks. You were of a great help to me.” Sameer smiled back.


George  looked at him as he walked… towards his home maybe… George’s mind  imbibed a feeling of satisfaction. After all he had saved two lives  today. Sameer wasn’t the only one who wanted to kill himself tonight.

It  was only after looking at Sameer that George realised how naive his own  plan was.

Comments
  1. Vitasta says:

    It’s really good!! You saved more than those two lives… 🙂

    • shubhamc21 says:

      Thanks 🙂 And I hope you’re not serious with the next line!

      • Vitasta says:

        I am serious…just not the way you might be thinking… I think such writings can effect people psychology in good way…It is possible that a depressed person became cheerful again after reading this… 🙂

        • shubhamc21 says:

          That way it’s great! 🙂 it’s funny how I receive this review from you while another regular reader gave me an exact opposite review and found the post depressing. I am confused about my own feelings about the post now! 😛

liked it? tell me please

